Scat Bear! And I Mean Scat!


We had a great long weekend in Tway.  It’s always some work and some play…  But we managed to get one wall standing!  It won’t be long before we’ve got the exterior sealed and are working on the interior.  By that time, the snow will be flying and we’ll be sledding up to Tway.  Our plan is to work on the building all winter so it’s ready for spring.
 
At any rate, camping there is lovely.  That being said, I heard an unusual sound as I was just settling in for bed.  Something was underneath where we slept (the tent trailer folds out and the beds are on outstretched panels).  I could hear is sniffing and snorting and pawing at stuff under the trailer.  Bill was sleeping and not easily wakened…and of course I was feeling like a fool, as I thought maybe it was a mouse.  Bill mumbled something about maybe it being aliens so I didn’t want to make too much of a commotion lest he think me terribly foolish.  He was too sleepy to hear the noise anyway.  So I threw the flashlight down and made a big banging noise.  The animal must have moved on, as I didn’t hear it after that.
 
The next day, our dogs were out on a walk with us and one started rolling in something.  We know that whatever it is, it’s either dead or poop.  On closer investigation, it was poop – and looked like bear scat.  Full of berries…the very berries we’d been in the woods picking all morning.  Bill kept assuring me though it could have been a bull elk…yeah, right, he knows how easy I spook.  So further into the woods we trekked and came to a spot where we could see grass flattened down in a fashion that looked like an animal stood on two legs as they reached for Saskatoon berries.  We reached the road and came upon two more piles of poop and elk tracks.  Now, I always thought that bears did it in the woods, and not on the road, but it was right there on the road!    I can’t find any pictures of bull elk poop to compare (what a hobby these days!) so in my mind, we are definately dealing with a bear.  Time to get out the bear spray, bell, air horn and pellet gun.
 
We weeded the badly neglected garden and unearthed the potatoes, onions and corn.  Also, Bill managed to get the tractor up and running and even did a bit of cultivating.  We also got one wall standing.  Won’t be long until we are at the rafter stage and need help.
 
But we can’t work the whole time we’re up there…it’s too pretty and we have the toys that beckon us to the road.  Had a great trip down country roads and it was a nice excuse to cut work.
 
My daughter will be up next weekend.  I can’t wait!  Family is something we’ve been short of this summer.  It’ll be great to have her here for a few days.  Come fall, I think we’ll make the trek into Calgary to see the kids.  I miss them so much!  Wish they were here.
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

