Brown Thumb


I was in charge of the garden this year.  We’ve been in Tway almost every weekend this summer and I didn’t expect Bill to do it after a long day at work.  So me, Mrs. Brown Thumb, was in charge of planting and maintaining.  It didn’t rain for a while, but I was pretty diligent with watering.  And things grew.  All sorts of things and not just what I planted.  I’d say that I am the best weed grower in town!  Now it’s been wet and raining for the past couple of weeks and I haven’t been able to get into the garden to weed (guess if I was a ‘real’ gardener I’d put on my rubber boots and trek through the mud).  The weeds have taken over.  But I WON’T use a herbicide like Round Up to kill weeds!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Some of the weeds are just seeds that for whatever reason, are not anywhere close to the row that was planted for them.  I have errant radishes all over the garden!  An onions from last year are growing up in the spots they were planted last year.  But the best weed of all is the wild dill.  When the soil dries out, I’ll go and cut it all down – then freeze it and dry some. 
 
At any rate, it’s still only mid July so I shouldn’t expect to have a full crop of anything yet.  Though the first broccoli plants were no good – not enough rain I guess – went to seed and flowered before producing a good head.  And the remaining radishes have gone to seed (there’s only so much you can do with radishes). Lost some cabbage plants…oh well.  
 
So far this year, I have harvested some snow peas, onions, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, chives, and dill.  Won’t be long before the potatoes, beets, cabbage, cauliflower, tomatoes, carrots, beans, peas, and turnip are ready.  Maybe my thumb is more of a coffee color, after all. Maybe I can take care of plants!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

